HomeNewsSalah and Mané in final three for African Player of the Year...

Salah and Mané in final three for African Player of the Year award

Mohamed Salah has been named on the final three-man shortlist for the 2022 African Men’s Player of the Year award.

The Liverpool winger is joined by former Red Sadio Mane and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy.

Mane was the last man to be crowned Africa’s best player back in 2019 before COVID and must surely be favourite to take the prize this year. The Senegal captain led his country to the Africa Cup of Nations last summer, beating Salah’s Egypt on penalties in the final. He also scored the winning penalty to beat Egypt once again in the World Cup qualifiers in March this year, sending Senegal to the finals in Qatar later this year.

Salah, however, was named the Professional Footballers’ Association Men’s Players’ Player of the Year and Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year and won the Premier League’s Golden Boot and Playmaker of the Season accolades at the end of last season.

The winner will be announced on Thursday.

Full list of nominees for the CAF awards

Player of the Year (women): Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt), Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Inter Milan) and Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona).

Player of the Year (men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich), Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool).

Interclub Player of the Year (women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns).

Interclub Player of the Year (men): Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly), Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly).

Young Player of the Year (women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies), Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne).

Young Player of the Year (men): Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg), Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur), Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United).

Coach of the Year (women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Coach of the Year (men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Carlos Queiroz (Egypt), Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club).

Club of the Year (women): AS FAR (Morocco), Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa).

Club of the Year (men): Al Ahly (Egypt), RS Berkane (Morocco), Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco).

National Team of the Year (men): Cameroon, Egypt, Senegal.

Goal of the Year: Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates), Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba).